FreshTake Album Review Wiz Khalifa’s Blacc Hollywood

Wiz Khalifa, is the name I once told my friends about during my sophomore year in 2008 and no one really knew who he was in good ol’ ATL. However, back in Pittsburgh he was making waves and my cousin told me about him when I went to go visit the 412. I immediately fell in love, I don’t know if it was because we (Pittsburgh) finally had someone to brag about when it came to music or I just truly enjoyed the weed blazing tunes of this up and coming rapper. I was intrigued by him especially when I watched his interviews and Day-to-day videos on YouTube. It’s so surreal to look back at his growth and watch his rise to fame and I do mean that literally. I “repped” for him so hard when no one in Atlanta knew who he was and now fast forward to 2014 and he has now released his third major studio album entitled “Blacc Holllywood” and right about now I just sit back and think “I told ya bitches”.

For everyone that doesn’t know who Wiz Khalifa is, you’re musically retarted, for those who like to smoke this is the guy you want to listen to. For those that want to have fun and party, this is the guy you listen to. “Blacc Hollywood” definitely gives the listener a variety of music to listen to whether it’s his “We Dem Boys” to get you extremely hype or “Staying Out All Night” to get you in the zone.  He does become reflective in some of his songs like “House in the Hills” featuring Currency and “Still Down” reminding us of where he came from and the people he associates with. The album is reminiscent of his old albums with songs such as “Work Hard” especially the knocking trap beat that plays in the background.

I only have a few tracks that I would consider to be favorites of mine and hopefully everyone would agree which would include “We Dem Boys “and “House in the Hills”. I don’t necessarily hate the album but there are misses on here in my opinion like “Raw and “Promises”. I believe some rappers shouldn’t croon over music like Wiz did on a few of these songs. Even though there were some misses, there definitely were notable features including: Nas, Nicki Minaj, Schoolboy Q to name a few. Overall, I would give this album a solid 5 out of 10 on “smoke and party” hip-hop scale. Disagree? Oh well.

Personally, I feel as though Wiz’s claim to fame will be his mixtapes, such as, Kush and Orange Juice (my favorite) and Cabin Fever. Needless to say, he has established his sound and his core fans are not going anywhere. He makes music that people can smoke and drink to this isn’t rocket science. It’s something that he does well and I’m pretty sure he will continue to do this for years to come. I may not agree with some of the songs on that he puts out but I will always love Wiz Khalifa as an artist because he literally worked his way up and how could you not respect that grind? Watch some of his interviews he is a very charismatic person and that’s why I fell in love with him and PLUS he’s from my city!

-Vanecia

5/10 Gold Chalice, Fairly Fresh! Check This Album out!
5/10 Gold Chalice, Fairly Fresh! Check This Album Out!

Leave a Reply

